Select duration in nights:
Book Online Now
A Lesson in... Allen View History
This charming cottage was originally built in 1856 as the School Master's House, flanked on one side by Ninebanks Boys' School & on the other by the Girls' School. The School served the local community with pupils travelling from a seven mile radius, many travelling on foot each day. With time, other village Schools were built, pupil numbers at Ninebanks dropped & "Allen View" became the Caretaker's cottage & the school to the right was then converted into the new "School House". Ninebanks School closed it's doors to its remaining pupils in 1960.
In 2010 Ninebanks School celebrated 50 years since it's closure, with many past pupils returning to the Church Hall which was filled with photgraphs, memorabillia & stories of days gone by.
Steeped in history, this stone built, Grade II listed building is suitably named,as it is sits on the banks of the River Allen overlooking the Valley of the River West Allen. It is situated along side St Mark's Church which was built at the height of the lead mining boom in 1764, surviving the mine closures & the Methodist revival that followed. The original font still remains.
"Allen View" has been newly renovated & modernised, retaining it's charm & many original features. The cottage is deceptively spacious, has exposed beams, 1846 ledged doors, range with open fire, cast iron fireplace & unique stained glass windows.
Ninebanks is a small village in South West Northumberland noted for its late Medieval (Jacobean) Peel Tower & 17th Century bastle house.
Issac Holden, a 19th Century lead miner turned Methodist preacher & tea seller, has a 36 mile circular walk named after him, through Ninebanks.
Find out more about Allen View the modern Holiday Cottage.